CALL FOR PARTICIPATION

Yuefan Wang's picture

We hope that you will join us in this symposium on the impact of critical theory on Sinological literary studies since the 20th century.  NO REGISTRATION is required.  Although we do not have time to interact with the audience during the symposium, we do wish to hear your thoughts and present them in a public fashion.  Please send in your comments, suggestions, and proposals for possible roundtable discussion to jclcoffice@gmail.com.

If we can get sufficient feedback from the audience, we hope to organize online roundtables on various topics of interest (including those proposed by the audience),  about half a year after the symposium.   At the round tables, we will have a reversal of roles: the selected members of the audience will take the podium while the symposium speakers will listen and answer questions.  We particularly welcome the participation of young scholars and graduate students.

 JCLC Illinois Office

 

Critical Theory and Pre-Modern Chinese Literature (via Zoom)

 

https://usfca.zoom.us/j/8300862586

Meeting ID: 830 086 2586

 

Organizers: Stephen Roddy and Zong-qi Cai

 

Hosted by Forum on Chinese Poetic Culture, Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

 

The symposium is under the auspice of a broader project on the dissemination of Chinese culture led by Professor Yuan Xingpei of Peking University. Symposium papers, after successful peer review, will be published in the next special issue of Journal of Chinese Literature and Culture (JCLC 9.1, Spring 2022).

 

Date: July 1, 2021

 

Time: USA/Canada: 8:30 am-2:30 pm (PDT), 10:30 am-4:30 pm (CDT), 11:30 am-5:30 pm (EDT)

丨Germany: 5:30 pm-11:30 pm (CET) 丨China: 11:30 pm-5:30 am (July 1-2)

 

Session 1

8:30-11:15 am/10:30 am-1:15 m/11:30 am-2:15 pm/5:30-8:15 pm/11:30 pm-2:15 am

·Opening Remarks

·Feminist Theories and Women Writers of Late Imperial China: Influence and Critique

Grace S. Fong, McGill University

·Secrets Laid Bare: Close Reading of Chinese Poetry

Xinda Lian, Denison University

·On the Possibility of Chinese Image Theory

Jeffrey Moser, Brown University

·Semiotics and Formalism in the Study of Tang Poetry: The 1970s through the 1990s

Paula Varsano, UC Berkeley

·Whither Theatricality? Genres, Approaches, Prospects

Patricia Sieber, Ohio State University

 

Session 2

11:45 am-2:30 pm/1:45-4:30 pm/2:45-5:30 pm/8:45-11:30 pm/2:45-5:30 am

·Cultural Memory and the Reading of Early Chinese Literature

Martin Kern, Princeton University

·Decentering Sinas: Post-structuralism & Sinology

Lucas Klein, Arizona State University

·Theories of Spatiality and the Study of Medieval China

Manling Luo, Indiana University

·Mouvance and Intertextuality in Medieval Chinese Textual Culture

Christopher Nugent, Williams College

·Inward Turns, Then and Now

Alex Des Forges, University of Massachusetts, Boston

·Concluding Remarks