Book Launch Seminar: The Otherness of The Everyday with Jiang Jiehong, Xiang Biao and Michael Berry

Lauren Walden's picture

Your network editor has reposted this from H-Announce. The byline reflects the original authorship.

Type: 
Seminar
Date: 
May 4, 2021
Location: 
United Kingdom
Subject Fields: 
Art, Art History & Visual Studies, Asian History / Studies, Chinese History / Studies, East Asian History / Studies, Fine Arts
 
 

The Otherness of the Everyday

Twelve Conversations from the Chinese Art World During the Covid-19 Pandemic

BOOK LAUNCH SEMINAR

 

Join us for the online book launch seminar  The Otherness of the Everyday - Twelve Conversations from the Chinese Art World During the Covid-19 Pandemic. Based on a series of conversations, convened and
edited by Professor Jiang Jiehong, Director of the Centre for Chinese Visual Arts (CCVA), Birmingham City University, individuals from
a range of disciplines including anthropology, architecture, art, curating, design, fashion, film, literature, music and photography reflect on their experiences during the Covid-19 pandemic.

This seminar will bring editor Jiang Jiehong, one of the project participants, Biao Xiang, Professor of Social Anthropology at the University of Oxford/Director of Max Planck Institute for Social Anthropology in Germany, and special guest Professor Michael Berry, Director of the Center for Chinese Studies at UCLA, who recently translated Fang Fang’s Wuhan Diary: Dispatches from
a Quarantined City (
2020), to share and extend discussions surrounding the latest developments in regard to the global pandemic.

The launch will take place on 4th May 2021 (8am PDT / 4pm BST / 5pm CEST / 11pm CST).

If you are interested in attending the online launch, please contact the moderator Dr. Lauren Walden (lauren.walden@bcu.ac.uk) to register your details and receive the zoom link. Registration is limited to 80 places which will be allocated on a first come, first served basis. The launch will also be streamed concurrently on YouTube at the following address: www.youtube.com/channel/UCFhISVpn3_iQSeJeU7u8c4Q.

    

To order this book online visit our website: www.intellectbooks.com
 

Contact Email: