Virtual Conference: Teaching East Asia ​In the Humanities, April 24-25, 2021 (via Zoom)​

Xiaoyu Xia's picture

Teaching East Asia ​In the Humanities

 April 24-25, 2021 (via Zoom)​

The past decade has produced a great corpus of literature which defends and reimagines the value of the humanities—its potential to cultivate critical reasoning and cultural literacy necessary for a healthy civil society (Helen Small, 2013), ethically meaningful reading practices (Peter Brooks, 2014), and the character and judgement required to become “more human” (James Hankins, 2017). For teachers of the humanities, maintaining the sort of engaged pedagogy necessary to deliver on these promises means frequent trial and error. This conference is designed to serve as a forum to discuss both our challenges and successes in achieving our goals as humanities teachers in East Asian fields.

 

Conference Schedule

DAY 1

April 24 Session 1: PST 3:00-4:30 PM | EST 6:00 PM-7:30 PM | SGT 6:00 AM-7:30 AM(+1)

Stephen C. Angle (Wesleyan University) “Learning by Living: Confucian and Daoist Philosophical Exercises”

Gwendolyn Gillson (Illinois College) “Gods, Monsters, and Reserved Intimacy in East Asian Pedagogy”

Shelby Oxenford (University of Texas at Austin) “Teaching Disaster through Popular Culture”

 

Break: PST 4:30-5:00 PM | EST 7:30 -8:00 PM | SGT 7:30-8:00 AM(+1)

 

Session 2: PST 5:00-6:30 PM | EST 8:00 PM-9:30 PM | SGT 8:00-9:30 AM(+1)

Thomas Newhall and Jonathan Feuer (University of California, Los Angeles) “Teaching Writing through Buddhism”

Benjamin Daniels (University of California, Berkeley) “Manuscript Culture Assignment”

Rafal K. Stepien (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore) “Rethinking ‘Religion’, ‘Philosophy’, and ‘Literature’ in the Study of Buddhism” ​

 

DAY 2

April 25 Session 3: PST 3:00-5:00 PM | EST 6:00 PM-8:00 PM | SGT 6:00 AM-8:00 AM(+1)

Alan Baumler (Indiana University of Pennsylvania) “Disciplines and Narratives: Introducing Asian Studies in the Undergraduate Curriculum”

Laurence Coderre (New York University) “Preaching to the Choir: Reorienting the China Survey for Today’s Student Body”

Marjorie Burge (University of Colorado-Boulder) “Okay, Maybe Genji is a Rapist? Reflections on Teaching The Tale of Genji”

Tommy Tran (University of California, Merced) “Upaya and Teaching East Asian Studies”

 

 

For more detailed information and speaker biographies, please visit the conference web page here. Registration can be completed here