Lecture: Dec. 3 Prof. Zhiru's Talk "RESPONDING TO A NATIONAL CRISIS: ART, BUDDHISM, AND TECHNOLOGY IN TENTH CENTURY SOUTHEAST CHINA"

Jiang Wu's picture

 

Join the University of Arizona Center for Buddhist Studies for our

Lingyin Buddhist Studies Lecture No. 4

RESPONDING TO A NATIONAL CRISIS: ART, BUDDHISM, AND TECHNOLOGY IN TENTH CENTURY SOUTHEAST CHINA

Shi Zhiru, professor of Religious Studies and program coordinator of Asian Studies, Pomona College

December 3, 2020 at 4:00 PM Mountain Standard Time (MST)

Please verify the time in your area via a time zone calculator as Arizona does not observe Daylight Savings Time.

Other time zones include:

3:00 PM (PST)

6:00 PM (EST)

11:00 PM (BST) (London)

7:00 AM, December 4 (CST) (Beijing)

 

To receive a link to the webinar, please sign up for our email list here: http://eepurl.com/gb2yaD. If you are already on our list, you will receive the link soon. This lecture will be conducted in English.

 

In her lecture, Shi Zhiru will explore the ways Buddhists used innovative art and technology in response to a looming national crisis in the Wuyue Kingdom in Southeast China during the tenth century.

 

Shi Zhiru, a Chinese Buddhist nun from Singapore, is professor of Religious Studies and program coordinator of Asian Studies at Pomona College, a liberal arts university in Southern California. Zhiru is the author of Making of a Savior Bodhisattva: Dizang in Medieval China and has also published several articles in academic journals, including the Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies and Asia Major. She received her Ph.D. in East Asian Studies from the University of Arizona in 2000.

 

This lecture series is made possible thanks to the generous support from Lingyin Temple in Hangzhou, China. For more information about our lecture series, please visit our website: https://cbs.arizona.edu/lecture-series.