Menace to Empire: Book Discussion

Kevin Morrison's picture

The Society for Global Nineteenth-Century Studies is pleased to announce the next event in its "In Conversation" series. Join Moon-Ho Jung, author of Menace to Empire, in conversation with Julie Greene about his new book exploring colonial violence and anticolonial rage from across the Pacific between the Philippine-American War and World War II. "This history reveals how radical threats to the United States empire became seditious threats to national security and exposes the antiradical and colonial origins of anti-Asian racism. Menace to Empire transforms familiar themes in American history. This profoundly ambitious history of race and empire traces both the colonial violence and the anticolonial rage that the United States spread across the Pacific between the Philippine-American War and World War II. Moon-Ho Jung argues that the US national security state as we know it was born out of attempts to repress and silence anticolonial subjects, from the Philippines and Hawaiʻi to California and beyond.   Jung examines how various revolutionary movements spanning the Pacific confronted the US empire. In response, the US state closely monitored and brutally suppressed those movements, exaggerating fears of pan-Asian solidarities and sowing anti-Asian racism. Radicalized by their opposition to the US empire and racialized as threats to US security, peoples in and from Asia pursued a revolutionary politics that engendered and haunted the national security state—the heart and soul of the US empire ever since."

 

Moon-Ho Jung is Professor of History at the University of Washington.

Julie Greene is Professor of History at the University of Maryland at College Park.

 

Event details: 19 September 2022 online

Washington D. C. 5:00 pm

Seattle 2:00 pm

Honolulu 11:00 am

Sydney 7:00 am +1 day

Manila 5:00 am  + a day

11:00 pm Johannesburg

10:00 pm London

To register, please visit https://www.global19c.com/events-1

We warmly welcome those who are not members of the Society for Global Nineteenth-Century Studies to register for this live event. However, a recording of the event will be made available only to members of the Society (in the Members Only section of the website). By attending, you consent to the recording. 

Categories: Announcement