Do Asian Studies Matter for Minority-Serving Institutions? An Online Panel

peter hershock's picture

Your network editor has reposted this from H-Announce. The byline reflects the original authorship.

Type: 
Workshop
Date: 
October 10, 2022
Location: 
Hawaii, United States
Subject Fields: 
Asian History / Studies, Area Studies, Teaching and Learning, Ethnic History / Studies

This free online panel discussion will explore why Asian studies matters for students at colleges and universities serving Black, Latinx, Asian-American, Native-American, and Pacific Islander communities. Addressing topics ranging from personal motivations to nurturing institutional commitments to the study of Asian cultures and societies, panelists will share perspectives on the challenges and rewards of enhancing qualities of inclusion in the American undergraduate experience by engaging cultural differences as opportunities for mutual contribution.

Hosted Online via Zoom: 10:00am-11:30am Hawaii Standard Time
(4:00pm-5:30pm Eastern, 3:00pm-4:30pm Central, 1:00pm-2:30pm Pacific)

REGISTER HERE

PANELISTS:

Dr. Will Bridges: Arthur Satz Professor of the Humanities, Associate Professor of Japanese, Core Faculty member of the Frederick Douglass Institute for African and African-American Studies, University of Rochester

Dr. Petrice Flowers: Associate Professor of Political Science, University of Hawai'i at Mānoa

Dr. Fuji Lozada: Acting Dean of the Faculty, Chief Diversity Officer, Professor of Anthropology and Environmental Studies, Davidson College

Dr. Tinaz Pavri: Founding Director, Asian Studies Program; Professor of Political Science; Division Chair, Social Sciences and Education; Spelman College

MODERATOR:

Dr. Anita Plummer: Assistant Professor and Undergraduate Director, Department of African Studies; Associate Director of Research and Faculty Engagement, Center for Women, Gender and Global Leadership; Howard University

Contact Info: 

Dr. Peter D. Hershock, East-West Center

Categories: Announcement