SHGAPE Fishel-Calhoun Book Prize, Presidents' Book Prize

Christopher Nichols's picture
Society for Historians of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era (SHGAPE) 
Two best book prize announcements
(one for first books and the other for second or later ...)
Fishel-Calhoun Book Prize submission announcement
The Society for Historians of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era is pleased to announce its biennial competition for the best published article treating any aspect of U.S. history in the period 1865-1917.  The prize is open to new scholars, defined as graduate students or new PhD’s (within 6 years of receipt of the PhD) who have not yet published a book.  Articles appearing in journals dated during the two years preceding the year of the award are eligible.  (This means articles published between Jan. 1, 2016 and Dec. 31, 2017.)
The winner will receive an honorarium and recognition at the annual SHGAPE luncheon at the Organization of American Historians convention, to be held on Friday April 13, 2018, in Sacramento.  (Attendance at the OAH is not a requirement for submissions.)
Entries should be sent in .pdf format to the Fisher-Calhoun Prize Committee Chair, Professor Cheryl Hicks (, by December 15, 2017.  Page proofs are acceptable for articles to be published in December 2017.
Reminder (New Deadline!):
The Presidents’ Book Prize is awarded in even-numbered years for the best book treating any aspect of United States history in the period 1865 to 1920.  It must be the author’s second or subsequent scholarly book.  The prize is given in honor of the past presidents of SHGAPE.
Books written in English and published in the previous two years are eligible.  Authors or their publishers should send a published copy of each nominated book to all three members of the prize committee by the postmark deadline of November 1, 2017.  Books published after November 1, 2017 but before December 31, 2017 may be submitted in the following round, with an accompanying explanatory letter. 
Mailing addresses for 2018 prize committee (clearly label each entry “2018 Presidents’ Book Prize”):
Alan Lessoff, Committee Chair
History Department
CB 4420
Illinois State University
Normal, IL
Cornelius Bynum
Department of History
Purdue University
University Hall, 672 Oval Drive
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2087
Maria E. Montoya
Dean of Arts and Sciences
NYU Shanghai
14 East 4th Street, 3rd Floor, Suite 3003 
New York, NY 10012