Upcoming Webinar - Energy Aesthetics: New Directions in Studying the Cultural Life of Oil (November 29)

Trish Kahle's picture

The Energy Humanities Research Initiative at Georgetown University Qatar's Center for International and Regional Studies will host a webinar on November 29, 6 p.m. Doha (GMT+3) / 4 p.m. CET / 10 a.m. EST. "Energy Aesthetics: New Directions in Studying the Cultural Life of Oil" will feature Anne Pasek (Trent), Cajetan Iheka (Yale), and Carren Irr (Brandeis) in conversation about their recent research. You can register for the event on the Energy Humanities Research Initiative Webpage

This webinar follows the release of our new cluster of podcasts, featuring in-depth interviews with poet and scholar Santiago Acosta and artist, photographer, and writer Victor Ehikhamenor. This new cluster of podcasts addresses the complex ontologies and dark underbelly of petromodernity, as well as thinking through the ways artists have represented the violence that emerges from the entangled histories of oil and the postcolonial state. You can listen to them here, or wherever you get your podcasts. 

Please feel free to reach out with any questions, to be added to the initiative mailing list, or to let us know about your exciting work.