CFP | History of Science Society 2019 Annual Meeting

Ryan Feigenbaum's picture

Your network editor has reposted this from H-Announce. The byline reflects the original authorship.

Type: 
Call for Papers
Date: 
January 7, 2019
Location: 
Netherlands
Subject Fields: 
History of Science, Medicine, and Technology, Intellectual History, Humanities, Social History / Studies, Cultural History / Studies

History of Science Society

CALL FOR PAPERS

Utrecht, the Netherlands

Tues. 23 – Sat. 27 July 2019

SUBMISSION DEADLINE: 07 JANUARY 2019

hss2019.hssonline.org

The History of Science Society (HSS) will hold its 2019 annual meeting in the beautiful Dutch town of Utrecht, a short train ride from Amsterdam. Since this will be the HSS’s first meeting outside of North America, and we will be closer to scholars in Russia, in East and South Asia, and Africa, we especially encourage proposals that include scholars from different countries. The Society encourages submissions on all topics. Proposals (250-word maximum for abstracts) must be submitted via the HSS submission system on the meeting website: hss2019.hssonline.org. Click Abstract Submission on the navigation menu. If you have did not create an account for the 2018 meeting website, you will have to create a new one in order to submit an abstract. Unlike many academic societies, the HSS does not require that participants be members, but all participants must register for the meeting.

DIVERSITY

We will give strong preference to sessions that reflect diversity, e.g. diversity in institutional affiliation, gender, and/or in professional rank. Only one proposal per person may be submitted – workshops, simply moderating a session, posters, and other non-typical proposals (e.g., interest group lectures) are excluded from this restriction (for a maximum of two presentations), but roundtables are not. If your name appears more than once, outside of these exceptions, you must choose which proposal will go forward. Prior participation at the 2017 (Toronto) and 2018 (Seattle) meetings will be taken into consideration.

DEADLINE

All roundtable, organized session, and contributed paper proposals must be submitted by 7 January 2019 (23:59 CET). See the chart below for how the deadline converts to your time zone or check this online time zone converter. The HSS will work with organizers who wish to pre-circulate papers.

Tokyo

Utrecht

Greenwich Mean Time

New York

San Francisco

8 Jan 2019

7 Jan 2019

07:59 (JST)

23:59 (CET)

22:59 (GMT)

17:59 (EST)

14:59 (PST)

The deadline for Flashtalks, limited to graduate students, is 4 February 2019 (23:59 CET).

COLLABORATION

To encourage and aid the creation of panels with strong thematic coherence that draw upon historians of science across institutions and ranks, the meeting website features a discussion board for users. Anyone with a panel or paper idea seeking like-minded presenters should post and consult the postings there to round out a prospective session. Alternatively, you may also search for collaborators on Twitter, tagging your post with #hss19 #collab. Organized sessions have much higher acceptance rates than individual papers.

GRANTS

To defray travel costs, we will award National Science Foundation travel grants to graduate students, independent scholars, and recent PhDs (degree in the past 5 years) who are participating in the meeting. Only U.S. citizens or those studying at U.S. institutions are eligible for NSF grants. HSS will offer a limited number of travel grants for students, independent scholars, and recent PhDs who are participating but are ineligible for NSF grants. Dependent care grants (up to $200) will be offered for those who need such assistance. Additional information on these grants and instructions for application can be found on the meeting website.

GENERAL GUIDELINES

  • Selection Guidelines: The Committee on Meetings and Programs (CoMP) has established a set of best practices and guidelines for proposal. Program chairs will look to these best practices and guidelines when accepting abstracts for the 2019 meeting.
  • Additional instructions for abstract submission may be found on the meeting website. Please read these instructions carefully, as they have changed from previous years. Failure to comply fully with instructions or to complete the abstract submission process completely will preclude your submission from consideration.
  • To preserve formatting of your abstract across platforms, only plain text is supported for abstracts. This means that bold, italic, and other formatting is not possible.
  • All titles and abstract summaries should conform to the Chicago Manual of Style format. Easily confirm that your title follows CMS rules by using capitalizemytitle.com.
  • Use the contact form on the meeting website for any additional questions or inquiries.

UPDATES

For the latest meeting updates, check the 2019 meeting blog and follow HSS on Twitter and Facebook.