PRIZE: CEHS Book and Article Prizes

Brendan Karch's picture

The Central European History Society (CEHS) is accepting nominations for its book and article prizes. Both prizes recognize the best English-language work written on Central European history by a permanent resident of North America. The annual Hans Rosenberg Book Prize considers all eligible books with an imprint of 2020. The biennial Annelise Thimme Article Prize considers all eligible articles or essays published in journals, anthologies, or collections in 2019 or 2020.


Nominations can be made by authors, editors, presses, or third parties. Central European history is understood to include all German-speaking countries as well as areas previously included within the Habsburg monarchy. The prizes consider works covering any period from the medieval to the present.


Publications must be in English. Works may be published with any press worldwide, but authors must be permanent residents of North America. CEHS discourages submissions of reprints, second editions, multi-authored anthologies, and document publications.


Nominations received by July 31, 2021 will receive full consideration. The awards will be announced at the annual meeting of the American Historical Association in New Orleans in January 2022.


To nominate a book for the Rosenberg Prize, please email with the publication information. Then please send one hard copy of the book to each of the three persons below:


Prof. Molly Loberg (Committee Chair)

History Department 

California Polytechnic State University 

1 Grand Avenue 

San Luis Obispo, CA  93407 

Prof. Heidi Tworek

Room 1297

1873 East Mall

Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1


Prof. Janek Wasserman

4416 5th Ave. S

Apt. C

Birmingham, AL 35222


To nominate an article or essay for the Thimme Prize, please send an email to with the publication information. Please attach the article as a PDF file to the email.


For further information, please visit the CEHS prizes webpage at or send a message to the relevant email address above.

Categories: Award or Prize