PRIZE: Hans Rosenberg Book Prize of the Central European History Society

Anthony Steinhoff's picture

The Central European History Society (CEHS) is pleased to solicit nominations for the Hans Rosenberg Book Prize. This annual prize honors the best monograph in Central European history published in English by a North American scholar. This year’s award is restricted to books with an imprint of 2022. "Central European history" is understood to include all German-speaking countries as well as areas previously included within the Habsburg monarchy. Translations, edited collections, anthologies, memoirs and books that have previously been published are ineligible for consideration for the Hans Rosenberg Prize. 

Nominations may be made by an author or by a publisher. Publishers may submit as many entries as they wish. To nominate a book, please send an email with full publication information to:

Upon receipt of this email, the nominator will be sent contact information for the three members of the prize committee. One copy of each entry must be sent to each committee member and clearly labeled "Rosenberg Prize Entry." Print copies are preferred; if only an e-copy is available, please contact the committee members beforehand to arrange the submission format. 

Members of the 2023 prize committee:
Kelly Whitmer, Chair (Sewanee: The University of the South)
Rebecca Bennette (Middlebury College)
Christopher Molnar (University of Michigan-Flint)

Please note: All entries must be received by June 5, 2023. Entries will not be returned. The award recipient will be announced on the CEHS website in December 2023 and recognized during the CEHS’s business meeting, held in conjunction with the AHA's 2024 Annual Meeting in San Francisco.

Questions about the prize may be directed to