Grace Abbott Book Prize

Nicholas Syrett's picture

The Society for the History of Children and Youth (SHCY) is pleased to call for nominations for the best book in English on the history of children, childhood, or youth (broadly construed) published in 2022

Submissions are welcome now and must be submitted by March 30, 2022.  To submit your nomination please complete this google form.

If you have questions please contact with "Grace Abbott Prize" in the subject line.  

Nominations are invited from publishers, editors, and scholars, and self-nominations by authors. Current members of the SHCY award committee and SHCY President and Vice President are ineligible. 

The winner will be announced in June 2023.

2022 Grace Abbott Prize Committee members:

Julie deGraffenried

Associate Professor

History Department

Baylor University


Elizabeth Dillenburg

Assistant Professor 

Department of History 

The Ohio State University


Anne-Li Lindgren


Department of Child and Youth Studies 

Stockholm University


Pirjo Markkola 


Faculty of Social Sciences/History 

Tampere University 


Aaron Moore (Chair)


School of Literatures, Languages and Culture

The University of Edinburgh

Categories: Book, Award or Prize
Keywords: book prize