Conceptualising Archipelagic Memory

Luca Raimondi's picture

Your network editor has reposted this from H-Announce. The byline reflects the original authorship.

Type: 
Seminar
Date: 
February 1, 2022
Subject Fields: 
Colonial and Post-Colonial History / Studies, Holocaust, Genocide, and Memory Studies, Maritime History / Studies, Slavery, World History / Studies

The inter-disciplinary Archipelagic Memory collaborative project between the University of Mauritius, King’s College London and the University of the Witwatersrand invite you to their curtain-raiser event:

Conceptualising Archipelagic Memory:

An Online Seminar with Michael Rothberg and Vijaya Teelock, in conversation with Ananya Jahanara Kabir

The seminar will take place on Tuesday, 1st February 2022 at 8.30am PST | 11.30am EST | 4.30pm GMT | 6.30pm SAST | 8.30pm MUT. Registration by 30th January 2022 on Eventbrite.

Taking place on the 187th anniversary of the abolition of slavery in Mauritius, this seminar brings together three eminent scholars working on questions of memory, islands and archipelagos to initiate a discussion on practices of memory-making in archipelagic spaces and through archipleagic structures, and on the meanings and possibilities embedded in the notion of "archipelagic memory".

As the Archipelagic Memory project prepares for its conference “Archipelagic Memory: Intersecting Geographies, Histories and Disciplines” that will take place in Mauritius from 2-4 August 2022, this online seminar is intended as a first step in the creation of an intellectual forum to trace fresh trajectories in archipelagic thinking in the light of memory studies and novel forms of discourse, activism, justice and solidarity in the Global South. We welcome scholars and cultural practitioners working on connected histories across seas and oceans to attend the seminar and join us in exploring and sharpening our understanding of "archipelagic memory".

Please find all information regarding the event and register on Eventbrite. For more information on the Archipelagic Memory project, please visit the website: https://archipelagicmemory.wordpress.com/.

Contact Info: 

The Archipelagic Memory project team

Categories: Seminar
Keywords: seminar