Classical Nahuatl Course

John Schwaller's picture

From: John Sullivan < john.j.sullivan@utah.edu>

Date: July 6, 2018

 

Beginning Fall 2018, John Sullivan will teach live online courses in Classical Nahuatl through the University of Utah, at the beginning and intermediate levels. 

Beginning level: The beginning sequence, consisting of two semesters, will focus on the transcription, translation and discussion of alphabetic manuscripts written by Nahuas in the sixteenth century. Aspects of Nahua culture and grammar will be discussed as they come up in the texts themselves. Students are encouraged to propose manuscripts and texts that they are already working on or are interested in, for incorporation into the curriculum.

Intermediate level: The intermediate sequence, also consisting of two semesters, will continue with the transcription, translation and discussion of Nahua alphabetic manuscripts and texts proposed by the students themselves.

Class days and times: Each class (beginning and intermediate) will meet for two 90 minutes sessions per week. Days and times for classes will be determined by the availability of the students and the instructor. In other words, before you enroll we will agree on the days and times that are best for the majority of the prospective students. I am in Poland most of the time now, so with the time difference my availability is generally Monday throughFriday:

    Pacific Time: 8am-1pm

    Mountain Time: 8am-2pm

    Central Time: 8am-3pm

    Eastern Time: 8am-4pm

Fall Semester 2018: August 20 to December 6, 2018.

Spring Semester 2019: January 9 to April 23.

Tuition: Tuition for one semester is US$600, payable to the University of Utah.

Credit: The courses are non-credit (for now).

Requirements for enrollment: Enrollment is open to everyone. 

Course materials: All course materials will be provided to the students free of charge.

Videoconferencing platform: Zoom. There is no registration or charge involved for this service. You will need a good internet connection, as well as a headset in order to avoid echoes in the virtual classroom.

If you are interested in taking one of the classes or would like more information, please write to John at john.j.sullivan@utah.edu

Un abrazo,

John