Announcement: Cromwell Fellowships in American Legal History

Cornelia Dayton Discussion

Cromwell Research Fellowships in U.S. Legal history

**The Deadline is July 13, 2014!

In 2014, the William Nelson Cromwell Foundation will make available of a number of fellowship awards to support research and writing in American legal history. The number of awards to be made, and their amounts, is at the discretion of the Foundation. In the past several years, the trustees of the Foundation have made three to eight awards, in amounts up to $5,000. Preference is given to scholars at the early stages of their careers. The Committee for Research Fellowships and Awards of the American Society for Legal History (ASLH) reviews the applications and makes recommendations to the Foundation. (The Cromwell Foundation was established in 1930 to promote and encourage scholarship in legal history, particularly in the colonial and early national periods of the United States. The Foundation has supported the publication of legal records as well as historical monographs.)


Application Process for 2014

Cornelia H. Dayton of the University of Connecticut is the chair of the Society's Committee on Research Fellowships and Awards, with members: Michael Grossberg (ex officio, ASLH President), Indiana University; Victoria D. List, Washington and Jefferson College; Kunal Parker, University of Miami; Yvonne Pitts, Purdue University; Victoria Saker Woeste, American Bar Foundation; and one to be named

Applicants should submit a description of their proposed project (double-spaced, maximum 6 pages, with working title), a budget, a timeline, and a short c.v. (no longer than 3 pages). (There is no application form.) Two letters of recommendation from academic referees should be sent directly to the Committee Chair via email attachment. Applications must be submitted electronically (preferably in one .pdf file) no later than July 13, 2014.

Successful applicants will be notified after the annual meeting of the Cromwell Foundation, which normally takes place in the second week of November. An announcement of the awards will also be made at the annual meeting of the American Society of Legal History in Denver, CO, November 6-9, 2014.

To apply, please send all materials to the chair of the Committee: <>