ROMANOVS & THE ART OF PORTRAITURE

Margaret Samu's picture

Royal Patronage: Material Culture, Built Heritage and the Reach of the Crown

Part of the Kings and Queens Conference Series, organized by the Royal Studies Network

Registration closes: Friday 18 June 2021 (11:30 pm UK)
https://www.royalstudiesnetwork.org/current-conference-details

29 June – 2 July 2021
Weds 30 June
Parallel Session 7B

08:30 California, 11:30 New York, 16:30 UK, 18:30 Moscow, 23:30 Singapore

ROMANOVS & THE ART OF PORTRAITURE
Representations of Royals in Imperial Russia
Chair: Nicholas Nicholson (Russian History Museum)

Rosalind Polly Blakesley (University of Cambridge)
From Baltic Backwater to Russian Court: A Woman Artist, Two Portraits, and the Ascendency of Catherine the Great
John Webley (Yale University)
Ambiguity and Empire in F.X. Winterhalter’s Portrait of Empress Maria Alexandrovna
Nikita Balagurov (University of Helsinki)
Taste, Gender and Power in Ivan Kramskoy’s Portrait of the Heir to the Russian Throne