The Alec Nove Book Prize in Russian, Soviet, and Post-Soviet Studies

Olena Palko Discussion
June 1, 2023
Subject Fields: 
Eastern Europe History / Studies, Russian or Soviet History / Studies

The Alexander Nove Prize was established by BASEES in March 1995 in recognition of the outstanding contribution to its field of study made by the late Alec Nove. The prize is offered annually by BASEES for scholarly work of high quality in Russian, Soviet and post-Soviet studies. Items eligible for nomination are singly or jointly authored monographs. The authors of nominated works must at the time of nomination be members or associate members of the Association. 

For the 2022-23 cycle, the Nove Prize scheme is accepting nominations for books published in 2022. The deadline for nominations is 30 June 2023. The winners will be announced early in 2024 and the prize (if awarded) will be presented at the annual dinner of the 2024 conference.

The works received will be scored by our judges against criteria of originality, rigour and significance. Works nominated for consideration must be of a scholarly character and must be in English. Winners will be works that make a major contribution to Russian, Soviet and post-Soviet studies. For 2022-23, our judges are Dr Robert Dale, Professor Polly Jones, and Professor Matthias Neumann.

For more information. click here:

Contact Info: 

Olena Palko

Contact Email: