Now Accepting Nominations for 2019 NJ Historical Commission Awards

Greer  Luce's picture

Help acknowledge and celebrate those who support and further the study of New Jersey history!

The New Jersey Historical Commission is now accepting nominations for the following awards in 2019:

Richard J. Hughes Award

Recognizes outstanding lifetime achievement in the field of New Jersey history.

Richard P. McCormick Prize

Given every other year to the author of an outstanding scholarly book on New Jersey history published during the preceding two years. The award carries a prize of $1,500.

Mildred Barry Garvin Prize

Given every year to an educational professional for outstanding teaching of black American history. The award carries a prize of $1,500.

Awards of Recognition

Given to individuals or organizations that have made significant contributions to New Jersey history in the following categories:

  • Multiple contributions made over time
  • Positive impact on the ways in which audiences and / or communities are engaged in history
  • Scholarship, public service, conservation and preservation efforts, special events, and teaching
  • Helping to increase public awareness

Award nominations are due June 1, 2019 with the exception of the McCormick Prize due June 3, 2019.

Learn more about each award and complete a nomination form.