Nominations open for Roger McDonough Librarianship Award

Bob Vietrogoski's picture

The New Jersey Studies Academic Alliance (NJSAA) is pleased to announce that it is accepting nominations for the Roger McDonough Librarianship Award for 2017.

Roger McDonough Librarianship Award

In 2002 the NJSAA, along with the New Jersey Historical Commission, the Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference New Jersey Caucus, and the New Jersey Library Association History and Preservation Section, instituted an award to a librarian or archivist or manuscript curator for excellence in service in advancing New Jersey Studies. 

Previous recipients of this award are Robert Lupp, Elsalyn Palmisano, Charles Cummings, Joseph Felcone, Karl Niederer, Lois Densky-Wolff, Joseph Klett, David Mitros, Susan Gulick, Bonita Craft Grant, Joseph DaRold, Bette Epstein, Janet Riemer, Ron Becker, and Gary Saretzky.

The award is named in honor of Roger H. McDonough, New Jersey State Librarian from 1947 to 1975.

Nominees should meet the following criteria:

1. 10 or more years of service as a librarian, archivist, or manuscript curator in a New Jersey institution. The nominee may be active or retired.

2. A high level of public service to the New Jersey studies research community and/or general public.

To nominate a candidate, please state why he/she is deserving of this award, citing significant accomplishments in service to the New Jersey studies community, along with a career history or CV.

A nomination form is online:

Nominations should be emailed to, or mailed to:

McDonough Award Committee

c/o Bob Vietrogoski

George F. Smith Library of the Health Sciences

30 12th Avenue

PO Box 1709

Newark NJ 07101 - 1709


The award will be presented at Archives and History Day at the Monmouth County Library on October 14, 2017.