Military History Digest #357

David Silbey's picture

 

Medieval:

  •  The 'Second' War of Independence: Civil War and More With Iain MacInnes - Medievalists.net https://www.medievalists.net/2021/12/the-second-war-of-independence-civil-war-and-more-wit...

 

Early Modern:

  •  Military Book Review History of the British Army, 17141783: An Institutional History https://www.strategypage.com/bookreviews/2240

 

18th Century (to 1815):

  •  The Battle of Fort Washington Inside One of the Continental Armys Worst Defeats of the Revolutionary War - MilitaryHistoryNow.com https://militaryhistorynow.com/2021/11/17/the-battle-of-fort-washington-inside-one-of-the-...

 

Civil War

  •  Booknotes: The Civil War in Maryland Reconsidered | Civil War Books and Authors https://cwba.blogspot.com/2021/11/booknotes-civil-war-in-maryland.html

  •  First Fallen: The Life of Colonel Elmer Ellsworth, the Norths First Civil War Hero by Meg Groeling - the Reconstruction Era https://thereconstructionera.com/first-fallen-the-life-of-colonel-elmer-ellsworth-the-nort...

  •  Gettysburg 1963: Civil Rights, Cold War Politics, and Historical Memory in America's Most Famous Small Town by Jill Ogline Titus - the Reconstruction Era https://thereconstructionera.com/gettysburg-1963-civil-rights-cold-war-politics-and-histor...

  •  Gettysburg Witness Tree Damage Update: Sickles' "Witness Fence" Damaged | Gettysburg Daily https://www.gettysburgdaily.com/gettysburg-witness-tree-damage-update-sickles-witness-fenc...

  •  John Banks' Civil War Blog: An Epic Visit to Liberty Gap Battlefield With Soldier's Descendant https://john-banks.blogspot.com/2021/11/an-epic-visit-to-liberty-gap.html

  •  Ken Burnss Civil War Pbs Series Is 30 Does It Still Measure Up? | Student of the American Civil War https://studycivilwar.wordpress.com/2021/11/19/ken-burnss-civil-war-pbs-series-is-30-does-...

  •  Military Book Review Meade and Lee at Rappahannock Station: The Army of the Potomacs First Post-Gettysburg Offensive, From Kellys Ford to the Rapidan, October 21 to November 20, 1863 https://www.strategypage.com/bookreviews/2243

  •  Natchez Miss. Considers New Monument to Usct Who Protected City From Confederate Attacks - the Reconstruction Era https://thereconstructionera.com/natchez-miss-considers-new-monument-to-usct-who-protected...

  •  Review - "The USS <I>Tecumseh</I> in Mobile Bay: The Sinking of a Civil War Ironclad" By David Smithweck | Civil War Books and Authors https://cwba.blogspot.com/2021/11/review-uss-tecumseh-in-mobile-bay.html

  •  Review Of Kent Masterson Brown. Meade at Gettysburg: A Study in Command. Civil War America Series. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2021. 488 Pp. $35.00 (Cloth), Isbn 978-1-4696-6199-5. Reviewed by Jennifer Murray (Oklahoma State University)  https://www.h-net.org/reviews/showrev.php?id=56327

  •  Surgeon David Little, 13th New York Infantry, on the Battle and Retreat | Bull Runnings https://bullrunnings.wordpress.com/2021/11/17/surgeon-david-little-13th-new-york-infantry-...

 

1865-1914

  •  In 1866 Milton Bradley Sold a "Home Theater" Where Americans Could Watch the Civil War Unfold Before Their Eyes - the Reconstruction Era https://thereconstructionera.com/in-1866-milton-bradley-sold-a-home-theater-where-american...

  •  Opinion | Ken Burns: National Parks Service Site Reminds Us of Americas Violent History - the Washington Post https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/2021/11/22/ken-burns-sand-creek-massacre-america-v...

  •  The Mysterious Flying Machine of the Mysterious Seor Alvares I Airminded https://airminded.org/2021/11/15/the-mysterious-flying-machine-of-the-mysterious-senor-alv...

  •  Union Veterans Held Left Handed Penmanship Contests to Encourage Amputees to Re-Learn Writing - the Reconstruction Era https://thereconstructionera.com/union-veterans-held-left-handed-penmanship-contest-to-enc...

 

First World War:

  •  Cleanup Complete at Wwi Chemical Weapons Dump in D.C.s Spring Valley DCist https://dcist.com/story/21/11/26/cleanup-complete-chemical-weapons-dump-dc-spring-valley/

  •  John a. Lejeune: Thanksgiving 1918 - War Room - U.S. Army War College https://warroom.armywarcollege.edu/articles/thanksgiving-lejeune/

  •  Review Of Marco Mondini. Il Capo. La Grande Guerra Del Generale Luigi Cadorna. Bologna: Il Mulino, 2019. 388 Pp. $49.30 (Paper), Isbn 978-88-15-27284-3. Reviewed by Stefano Marcuzzi (European University Institute)  https://www.h-net.org/reviews/showrev.php?id=57089

  •  The Ogilby Muster First World War Online Archive Set to Launch | Salisbury Journal https://www.salisburyjournal.co.uk/news/19687940.ogilby-muster-first-world-war-online-arch...

 

Second World War:

  •  #Reviewing the Folly of Generals: How Eisenhowers Broad Front Strategy Lengthened World War Ii https://thestrategybridge.org/the-bridge/2021/11/30/reviewing-the-folly-of-generals-how-ei...

  •  Blog - Churchill's Czech Mercenaries - Osprey Publishing https://ospreypublishing.com/blog/Churchills_Czech_Mercenaries/

  •  Dieppe France 1942 Mike's Research https://mikesresearch.com/2021/11/28/dieppe-france-1942/

  •  Digitized Photos and Newsreels Offer Glimpse Into Lives of Canadians During Wwii https://www.newswire.ca/news-releases/digitized-photos-and-newsreels-offer-glimpse-into-li...

  •  Havocs Over New Guinea Inside the American 312th Bomber Groups Air Campaign in the Pacific - MilitaryHistoryNow.com https://militaryhistorynow.com/2021/11/23/havocs-over-new-guinea-inside-the-the-american-3...

  •  Inside the Anti-Fascist Library That's Been Fighting Nazism Since Ww2 | Londonist https://londonist.com/london/features/wiener-holocaust-library-anti-fascist-russell-square...

  •  London's Stretcher Railings London, England - Atlas Obscura https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/london-s-stretcher-railings

  •  M3 Lee Post-WWII Service Wwiiafterwwii https://wwiiafterwwii.wordpress.com/2021/11/25/m3-lee-post-wwii-service/

  •  Military Book Review a Forgotten Campaign: The British Armed Forces in France 1940 From Dunkirk to the Armistice https://www.strategypage.com/bookreviews/2245

  •  Most Obediently Yours: Letter Sign-Offs From the Third Reich History Revisited https://salipner.wordpress.com/2021/11/09/most-obediently-yours-letter-sign-offs-from-the-...

  •  Nazis on the Run | by David Motadel | the New York Review of Books https://www.nybooks.com/articles/2021/12/02/nazis-on-the-run/

  •  New Books Network | Marc Gallicchio, "Unconditional: The Japanese https://newbooksnetwork.com/unconditional

  •  Pearl Harbor | StoriesBehindtheStar https://www.storiesbehindthestars.org/pearlharbor

  •  Phyllis Latour Soe Wireless Operator in France Alan Malcher https://alanmalcher.com/2021/11/29/phyllis-latour-soe-wireless-operator-in-france/

  •  Review Of Judy Batalion. the Light of Days: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. New York: William Morrow, 2021. 576 Pp. $28.99 (Cloth), Isbn 978-0-06-287421-4. Reviewed by Joanna Sliwa (Conference on Jewish Material Claims Against Germany (Claims Conference))  https://www.h-net.org/reviews/showrev.php?id=57110

  •  T-34 on Tour | Warspot.net https://warspot.net/459-t-34-on-tour

  •  The Atypical Battle of Kursk | Warspot.net https://warspot.net/464-the-atypical-battle-of-kursk

  •  The Loss of the Duisburg Convoy - Comando Supremo https://comandosupremo.com/the-loss-of-the-duisburg-convoy/

 

Cold War:

  •  A Soldier and His Establishment: In the Life of Colin Powell, Who Failed Whom? https://www.justsecurity.org/78879/a-soldier-and-his-establishment-in-the-life-of-colin-po...

  •  Blog - the Tonkin Gulf Q&A - Osprey Publishing https://ospreypublishing.com/blog/The_Tonkin-Gulf_QandA/

  •  Centurions in the Jungle | Warspot.net https://warspot.net/469-centurions-in-the-jungle

  •  From Debacle to Triumph: Indias Civil-Military Relations at War 1962-1971 https://thestrategybridge.org/the-bridge/2021/11/15/from-debacle-to-triumph-indias-civil-m...

  •  Megatons to Megawatts: Russian Warheads Fuel U.S. Power Plants : Npr https://www.npr.org/2013/12/11/250007526/megatons-to-megawatts-russian-warheads-fuel-u-s-p...

  •  Review Of Marc Becker. the Cia in Ecuador. American Encounters/Global Interactions Series. Durham: Duke University Press, 2021. Illustrations. Xi + 317 Pp. $27.95 (Paper), Isbn 978-1-4780-1138-5; $104.95 (Cloth), Isbn 978-1-4780-1035-7. Reviewed by David M. K. Sheinin (Trent University)  https://www.h-net.org/reviews/showrev.php?id=56578

  •  The Saur Revolution: The Anatomy of a Military Coup | Warspot.net https://warspot.net/475-the-saur-revolution-the-anatomy-of-a-military-coup

  •  The South African Border War (1966-1989) and Its Callwellian Influence | Small Wars Journal https://smallwarsjournal.com/jrnl/art/south-african-border-war-1966-1989-and-its-callwelli...

 

Post Cold War:

  •  Lockheed Martins SR-72 Could Revolutionize Everything | the National Interest https://nationalinterest.org/blog/buzz/lockheed-martin%E2%80%99s-sr-72-could-revolutionize...

  •  Pentagon Quietly Removes 137,000 Photos, Videos of Afghanistan War https://taskandpurpose.com/news/pentagon-removes-afghanistan-war-photos-from-dvids/

  •  Taliban Had Secretly Infiltrated Afghan Society https://politicalwire.com/2021/11/28/taliban-had-secretly-infiltrated-afghan-society/

  •  The Troubled History of Vaccines and Conflict Zones : Goats and Soda : Npr https://www.npr.org/sections/goatsandsoda/2021/08/29/1031007332/the-troubled-history-of-va...

 

Naval:

  •  A Slavish Devotion to Forward Presence Has Nearly Broken the U.S. Navy | Proceedings - December 2021 Vol. 147/12/1426 https://www.usni.org/magazines/proceedings/2021/december/slavish-devotion-forward-presence...

  •  Battleship Texas Plans and Records Now Online at the State Archives | Out of the Stacks https://www.tsl.texas.gov/outofthestacks/battleship-texas-plans-and-records-now-online-at-...

  •  Pentagon Report: Navy 2020 Suicide Rate Lowest in Four Years - Usni News https://news.usni.org/2021/10/27/pentagon-report-navy-2020-suicide-rate-lowest-in-four-yea...

  •  Showdown at Jutland How Intrigue and Feuding Among the Kaiser and His Admirals Led to WW1s Greatest Sea Battle - MilitaryHistoryNow.com https://militaryhistorynow.com/2021/11/10/showdown-at-jutland-how-intrigue-and-feuding-amo...

 

Thematic/Misc:

  •  Adrian Carton De Wiart VC, Whose War Service Sounds Like Fiction but Is All True! Alan Malcher https://alanmalcher.com/2021/12/01/adrian-carton-de-wiart-vc-whose-war-service-sounds-like...

  •  Confessions of a B-52 Stratofortress Maintainer | the Drive https://www.thedrive.com/the-war-zone/43043/confessions-of-a-b-52-crew-chief

  •  Main Calibers | Warspot.net https://warspot.net/480-main-calibers

  •  Notable Sandwiches #7: Bnh M - by Talia Bracha Lavin - the Sword and the Sandwich https://theswordandthesandwich.substack.com/p/notable-sandwiches-7-banh-mi

  •  The Cost of Sentimentalizing War | The New Yorker https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2021/11/29/the-cost-of-sentimentalizing-war-elizabeth-d...

  •  U.S. Military Has Historically Struggled With Vaccine Hesitancy - Usni News https://news.usni.org/2021/11/09/u-s-military-has-historically-struggled-with-vaccine-hesi...

  •  U.S. Military Has Historically Struggled With Vaccine Hesitancy - Usni News https://news.usni.org/2021/11/09/u-s-military-has-historically-struggled-with-vaccine-hesi...

  •  Walter Chibnal Who Fought With the Australian Army During Ww1 and His Son William Who Fought During Ww2 Alan Malcher https://alanmalcher.com/2021/12/02/walter-chibnal-who-fought-with-the-australian-army-duri...

Categories: Blog Post