Military History Digest #331

David Silbey's picture

 

Early Modern:

  • The Norwegian Thunderbolt: Vice Admiral Peter Wessel http://cimsec.org/the-norwegian-thunderbolt-vice-admiral-peter-wessel/42320

 

18th Century (to 1815):

  • The U.S. Navy in the War of 1812: Winning the Battle but Losing the War, Pt. 1 http://cimsec.org/the-u-s-navy-in-the-war-of-1812-winning-the-battle-but-losing-the-war-pt...

  • The U.S. Navy in the War of 1812: Winning the Battle but Losing the War, Pt. 2 http://cimsec.org/the-u-s-navy-in-the-war-of-1812-winning-the-battle-but-losing-the-war-pt...

 

1815-1861:

  • The West Point Class of 1829 - Us Army War College War Room https://warroom.armywarcollege.edu/podcasts/class-of-1829/

 

Civil War

  • Captain Voigt's Company of Waul's Texas Legion | Civil War Books and Authors https://cwba.blogspot.com/2019/11/captain-voigts-company-of-wauls-texas.html

  • Fearless Farragut! https://www.navytimes.com/news/your-navy/2019/10/04/fearless-farragut/

  • Review: Searching for Black Confederates: The Civil Wars Most Persistent Myth by Kevin Levin. Civil Discourse http://www.civildiscourse-historyblog.com/blog/2019/10/24/review-searching-for-black-confe...

  • The Challenges of the University of Virginia's Civil War Hospital - National Museum of Civil War Medicine http://www.civilwarmed.org/uva-hospital/

  • Writing History in a Novel Way Megan Kate Nelson http://www.megankatenelson.com/writing-history-in-a-novel-way/

 

1865-1914

  • Reporting From the Sha: Sanitation, Statistics, and State-Building in Reconstruction America Civil Discourse http://www.civildiscourse-historyblog.com/blog/2019/12/2/reporting-from-the-sha-sanitation...

 

First World War:

  • Book Review: Filling the Ranks by Richard Holt | Canadian Military History https://canadianmilitaryhistory.ca/book-review-filling-the-ranks-by-richard-holt/

  • Dying From the Drink: Soldier Deaths Due to Alcohol, 1914-1918 | Canadian Military History https://canadianmilitaryhistory.ca/dying-from-the-drink/

  • The History That Happened: Setting the Record Straight on the Armenian Genocide - War on the Rocks https://warontherocks.com/2019/12/the-history-that-happened-setting-the-record-straight-on...

  • The Killing of the Iron 12 The Inside Story of One of WW1s Forgotten War Crimes - MilitaryHistoryNow.com https://militaryhistorynow.com/2019/11/21/the-killing-of-the-iron-12-the-inside-story-of-o...

 

Interwar:

  • Book Review: 1931: Debt, Crisis, and the Rise of Hitler by Tobias Straumann | Lse Review of Books https://blogs.lse.ac.uk/lsereviewofbooks/2019/11/21/book-review-1931-debt-crisis-and-the-r...

 

Second World War:

  • Blunder Over Belgium - Was a Botched Cargo Drop to the 82nd Airborne in the Ardennes Negligence or Sabotage? - MilitaryHistoryNow.com https://militaryhistorynow.com/2019/12/09/blunder-over-belgium-was-a-botched-cargo-drop-to...

  • Computer Degenerated: A Review of "Midway" | the National Wwii Museum | New Orleans https://www.nationalww2museum.org/war/articles/computer-degenerated-review-midway?utm_sour...

  • Fighting for Survival | Naval History Magazine - December 2019 Volume 34, Number 6 https://www.usni.org/magazines/naval-history-magazine/2019/december/fighting-survival

  • He Is Remembered: F/Sgt. Biddlecombe, Part III | Canadian Military History https://canadianmilitaryhistory.ca/he-is-remembered-f-sgt-biddlecombe-part-iii/

  • John Wheelers H-Bomb Blues: Physics Today: Vol 72, No 12 https://physicstoday.scitation.org/doi/10.1063/PT.3.4364

  • Naval History Blog Blog Archive Risky Rescue Off Nauru Island, December 1944 https://www.navalhistory.org/2019/12/03/risky-rescue-off-nauru-island-december-1944

  • Naval History Blog Blog Archive the Life & Service of a World War 2 Mine Warfare Sailor. Part 4 https://www.navalhistory.org/2019/11/21/the-life-service-of-a-world-war-2-mine-warfare-sai...

  • Nursing Clio More Than Accomplices: The Crimes of Hitlers Female Ss https://nursingclio.org/2019/12/04/more-than-accomplices-the-crimes-of-hitlers-female-ss/

  • Pearl Harbor's Overlooked Answer | Naval History Magazine - December 2011 Volume 25, Number 6 https://www.usni.org/magazines/naval-history-magazine/2011/december/pearl-harbors-overlook...

  • Polands New World War Ii Museum Who Gets to Tell the Story? Camerons Travels | Rick Steves Europe https://blog.ricksteves.com/cameron/2018/11/poland-world-war-ii-museum/

  • Shoestring Logistics Lessons From Guadalcanal | RealClearDefense https://www.realcleardefense.com/2019/11/18/shoestring_logistics_lessons_from_guadalcanal_...

  • The Age of Hiroshima | Princeton University Press https://press.princeton.edu/books/hardcover/9780691193458/the-age-of-hiroshima

  • The End Outside Tobruk 4 December 1941 The Crusader Project https://rommelsriposte.com/2019/12/04/the-end-outside-tobruk-4-december-1941/

  • The Loss of Hms Barham The Crusader Project https://rommelsriposte.com/2019/11/26/the-loss-of-hms-barham/

 

Cold War:

  • Armys Conflicting History of Haircuts and Racial Identity Explored in New Article | the University of Kansas https://news.ku.edu/2019/12/06/army%E2%80%99s-conflicting-history-haircuts-and-racial-iden...

  • Being "Red": The Challenge of Taking the Soviet Side in War Games at the Naval War College, Pt. 1 http://cimsec.org/being-red-the-challenge-of-taking-the-soviet-side-in-war-games-at-the-na...

  • Blog - How the Us Air Force Won in Korea and Couldn't Claim the Victory - Osprey Publishing https://ospreypublishing.com/blog/US_Air_Force_Won_Korea/

  • Confessions of an A-6 Intruder Pilot - the Drive https://www.thedrive.com/the-war-zone/27604/confessions-of-an-a-6-intruder-pilot

  • Naval History Blog Blog Archive From Bad to Worse https://www.navalhistory.org/2019/12/05/from-bad-to-worse

 

Post Cold War:

  • 'Thats When I Became a Sniper': Ukraines Woman Vets Describe Their War - Defense One https://www.defenseone.com/politics/2019/11/s-when-i-became-sniper-ukraines-woman-vets-des...

  • #Reviewing War Flower https://thestrategybridge.org/the-bridge/2019/12/4/reviewing-war-flower

  • Britains Secret War With Russia - Defense One https://www.defenseone.com/threats/2019/12/britains-secret-war-russia/161665/

 

Naval:

  • Naval History Blog Blog Archive the U.S. Navys Smashers https://www.navalhistory.org/2019/12/10/the-u-s-navys-smashers

  • Shipfax: Boabarge to Ground Zero https://shipfax.blogspot.com/2019/12/boabarge-to-ground-zero.html

  • U.S. Naval Institute Blog https://blog.usni.org/posts/2019/12/03/winning-the-peace

 

Thematic/Misc:

  • A Question of Professionalism - Us Army War College War Room https://warroom.armywarcollege.edu/special-series/dusty-shelves/professionalism/

  • Battlefields Around the World Are Finding New Purpose as Parks and Refuges | RealClearDefense https://www.realcleardefense.com/articles/2019/11/09/battlefields_around_the_world_are_fin...

  • Modern-Day 'Monuments Men': Smithsonian, U.S. Army Partner to Preserve Culture Amid War | Small Wars Journal https://smallwarsjournal.com/blog/modern-day-monuments-men-smithsonian-us-army-partner-pre...

  • Seafloor Scar of Bikini A-bomb Test Still Visible - Bbc News https://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-50724632

  • These Cluster Bombs Started Killing Civilians Before They Left U.S. Soil - the New York Times https://www.nytimes.com/2019/12/04/magazine/cluster-bomb-kansas.html?searchResultPosition=1

  • Top 10 Close Air Support Aircraft | Hush-Kit https://hushkit.net/2019/11/26/top-10-close-air-support-aircraft/