Military History Digest #327

David Silbey's picture

 

18th Century (to 1815):

  •Kabinettskriege: How Close Ranged Were Mid-Eighteenth-Century Firefights? https://kabinettskriege.blogspot.com/2018/01/how-close-ranged-were-mid-eighteenth.html?fbc...

  •Nursing Clio Intersex Revolutionary War Hero Did Good Because Doctors Did No Harm https://nursingclio.org/2019/04/12/intersex-revolutionary-war-hero-did-good-because-doctor...

 

Civil War

  •Home - Essential Civil War Curriculum https://www.essentialcivilwarcurriculum.com/

  •Private Mohammed Kahn: Civil War Soldier NARAtions https://narations.blogs.archives.gov/2017/06/23/private-mohammed-kahn-civil-war-soldier/

  •Tales From the Army of the Potomac: Protesting the McClellan Testimonial: Photographing the 119th Pennsylvania, Part 3. https://talesfromaop.blogspot.com/2019/05/protesting-mcclellan-testimonial.html

  •The Victor of Gettysburg - 11 Surprising Facts About George Gordon Meade - MilitaryHistoryNow.com https://militaryhistorynow.com/2019/04/26/the-victor-of-gettysburg-11-surprising-facts-abo...

  •West Point Statue: Why Ulysses S. Grants Reputation Improves as Other Presidents Lose Stature - the Washington Post https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/as-civil-war-statues-are-removed-a-new-one-goes-up...

 

1865-1914

  •Historical Firearms - 12-Inch Coastal Defence Gun M1895 These Amazing... https://www.historicalfirearms.info/post/184954123594/12-inch-coastal-defence-gun-m1895-th...

  •The Strategy Bridge https://thestrategybridge.org/the-bridge/2019/4/10/military-politics-in-an-age-of-transiti...

 

First World War:

  •A Doughboy's March Toward the Flame: #6 Best Wwi Memoir - Edward Lengel http://www.edwardlengel.com/a-doughboys-march-toward-the-flame-6-best-wwi-memoir/

  •An Australian Cavalryman's Desert Column: #7 Best Wwi Memoir - Edward Lengel http://www.edwardlengel.com/an-australian-cavalrymans-desert-column-7-best-wwi-memoir/

  •Hundreds of Bottles of Vintage Wine and Champagne Discovered in Shipwreck Off Cornish Coast - Cornwall Live https://www.cornwalllive.com/news/cornwall-news/hundreds-bottles-vintage-wine-champagne-27...

  •Soundings in Narragansett Bay's Naval History: A Third U-Boat Visits Newport http://navalwarcollegemuseum.blogspot.com/2019/05/a-third-u-boat-visits-newport.html?utm_s...

  •The Scandalous Love Affair That Started World War I | The National Interest https://nationalinterest.org/feature/the-scandalous-love-affair-started-world-war-i-10646

  •The Strategy Bridge https://thestrategybridge.org/the-bridge/2019/4/8/reviewing-the-generals-war

  •What Helen Zenna Smith Did Next Great War Fiction https://greatwarfiction.wordpress.com/2019/04/08/what-helen-zenna-smith-did-next/

 

Second World War:

  •Database of Japanese Buried in Australia During Wwii Completed | the Japan Times https://www.japantimes.co.jp/news/2019/04/18/national/database-japanese-buried-australia-w...

  •Deutsche Renten an Belgische Ss-Freiwillige | Deutschland | Dw | 20.02.2019 https://www.dw.com/de/deutsche-renten-an-belgische-ss-freiwillige/a-47604523

  •Kamikaze Images - Japanese Views http://www.kamikazeimages.net/japanese/index.htm

  •https://www.navalhistory.org/2019/05/02/tenth-patrol-of-the-uss-silversides-ss-236

  •Oral History Audiobooks: A Barrel of Laughs http://oralhistoryaudiobooks.blogspot.com/2019/04/a-barrel-of-laughs.html

  •Stadtbahn Viaduct World War Ii Damage Berlin, Germany - Atlas Obscura https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/stadtbahn-viaduct-world-war-ii-damage

  •The Strategy Bridge https://thestrategybridge.org/the-bridge/2019/5/6/much-ado-about-strategic-bombardment-the...

  •The Untold Story of the Men Who Died on the Uss Saturn in Wwii | Military.com https://www.military.com/daily-news/2019/04/23/untold-story-men-who-died-uss-saturn-wwii.html

  •Veterans History Project Connects D-Day Journeys in Interactive Online Experience for 75th Anniversary | Library of Congress https://www.loc.gov/item/prn-19-052/?loclr=ealn

 

Cold War:

  •#AirWarVietnam Contested Skies: A Brief Guide to the Historiography of the Air War in Vietnam From Balloons to Drones https://balloonstodrones.com/2019/05/01/airwarvietnam-contested-skies-a-brief-guide-to-the...

  •Blog - the G3 Battle Rifle - Osprey Publishing https://ospreypublishing.com/blog/the_G3_battle_rifle/

  •Naval History Blog Blog Archive Covert Rescues at the Bay of Pigs https://www.navalhistory.org/2019/04/02/covert-rescues-at-the-bay-of-pigs

  •Naval History Blog Blog Archive the Great Seabee Tank Caper https://www.navalhistory.org/2019/04/04/the-great-seabee-tank-caper

  •USS Iowa: First Came the Explosion, Then the Cover-Up | Military.com https://www.military.com/daily-news/2019/04/19/uss-iowa-first-came-explosion-then-cover.html

 

Post Cold War:

  •A Russian Spy Plane Is Being Allowed to Photograph U.S. Military Sites | War Is Boring https://warisboring.com/a-russian-spy-plane-is-being-allowed-to-photograph-u-s-military-si...

  •Facebook Algorithms Make It Harder to Catch Extremists - the Atlantic https://www.theatlantic.com/ideas/archive/2019/05/facebook-algorithms-are-making-it-harder...

  •Picturing Sri Lankas Undead War | Crisis Group https://www.crisisgroup.org/asia/south-asia/sri-lanka/picturing-sri-lankas-undead-war

 

Naval:

  •Naval History Blog Blog Archive Museum Report: The Tug That Fought https://www.navalhistory.org/2019/05/14/museum-report-the-tug-that-fought

  •Naval History Blog Blog Archive the Strange Navy That Shipped Millions of Japanese Home https://www.navalhistory.org/2019/04/25/the-strange-navy-that-shipped-millions-of-japanese...

  •This Week in Seabee History: May 19 25 | Seabee Online https://seabeemagazine.navylive.dodlive.mil/2019/05/22/this-week-in-seabee-history-may-19-25/

 

Thematic/Misc:

  •Marine Corps Identity From the Historical Perspective | RealClearDefense https://www.realcleardefense.com/2019/05/13/marine_corps_identity_from_the_historical_pers...

  •National Library of Israel Releases Photo Archive of Idf History - Pictures - Israel News - Jerusalem Post https://www.jpost.com/Israel-News/National-Library-of-Israel-releases-photo-archive-of-IDF...

Categories: Blog Post