Military History Digest #303

David Silbey's picture

 Medieval:
 1. Book Review: Blood and Faith: The Purging of Muslim Spain, 1492-1614 by Matthew Carr | LSE Review of Books http://blogs.lse.ac.uk/lsereviewofbooks/2017/09/13/book-review-blood-and-faith-the-purging...
 
Early Modern:
 2. 6-pdrs from Lige  A walk-around | To the Sound of the Guns https://markerhunter.wordpress.com/2017/09/20/belgian-6-pdr-walk-around/
 
18th Century: 
 3. Muskets at the Battle of Waterloo: Injuries of War, Then vs. Now  Battles and Book Reviews http://www.military-history.us/2017/09/muskets-at-the-battle-of-waterloo/
 4. Solving the Mysterious Disappearance of Two 18th-Century French Frigates - Atlas Obscura http://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/shipwreck-perouse-mystery-disappearance

19th Century:
 5. A trip to Europe, looking at foundries: The 1840 Ordnance Commission | To the Sound of the Guns https://markerhunter.wordpress.com/2017/09/07/1840-ordnance-commission/
 6. Royal Navy Collision Offers Lessons for U.S. Navy | RealClearDefense https://www.realcleardefense.com/articles/2017/09/28/royal_navy_collision_offers_lessons_f...
 7. The Fast and the Furious  A Quick History of Civil War Repeating Rifles  MilitaryHistoryNow.com http://militaryhistorynow.com/2017/09/19/the-fast-and-the-furious-a-brief-history-of-civil...
 8. The New Zealand Wars 1845-1872 | MetaFilter http://www.metafilter.com/169405/The-New-Zealand-Wars-1845-1872
 9. Ty Seidule Takes on Lee and the Lost Cause  CIVIL WAR MEMORY http://cwmemory.com/2017/09/30/ty-seidule-takes-on-lee-and-the-lost-cause/

First World War:
10. Blog - The Other First World War - Osprey Publishing https://ospreypublishing.com/blog/the_other_first_world_war/
11. Book Review: Gender and the Great War edited by Susan R. Grayzel and Tammy M. Proctor | LSE Review of Books http://blogs.lse.ac.uk/lsereviewofbooks/2017/09/25/book-review-gender-and-the-great-war-ed...
12. D.C. War Memorial  Washington, D.C. - Atlas Obscura http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/dc-war-memorial
13. German World War One U-Boat Found Off Belgium With 23 Bodies Inside http://www.snopes.com/2017/09/19/ww1-uboat-bodies/
14. In 1917, the Illinois National Guard Joined a White Mob Hunting Blacks | War Is Boring http://warisboring.com/46079-2/

Interwar:
15. A Remarkable Armored Train Fought Its Way Across Eurasia | War Is Boring https://warisboring.com/a-remarkable-armored-train-fought-its-way-across-eurasia/
16. Blinded by the Rising Sun? American Intelligence Assessments of Japanese Air Power, 1920-41: Part 2  1930-1937  From Balloons to Drones https://balloonstodrones.com/2017/08/29/blinded-by-the-rising-sun-american-intelligence-as...
17. The Italian Navy and Japan: Strategy and Hopes, 1937-1942  Defence-In-Depth https://defenceindepth.co/2017/09/06/the-italian-navy-and-japan-strategy-and-hopes-1937-1942/

Second World War:
18. Blinded by the Rising Sun? American Intelligence Assessments of Japanese Air Power, 1920-41: Part 3  1937-41  From Balloons to Drones https://balloonstodrones.com/2017/09/06/blinded-by-the-rising-sun-american-intelligence-as...
19. British Naval History Tribal Class Destroyers Part 5; the hard War of HMS Somali - British Naval History http://www.britishnavalhistory.com/tribal-class-destroyers-5-the-hard-war-of-hms-somali/
20. During World War II, the Submarine USS Barb Rocketed Japan | War Is Boring http://warisboring.com/during-world-war-ii-the-submarine-uss-barb-rocketed-japan/
21. Germany Evacuates 60,000 to Defuse WWII Bomb | RealClearDefense https://www.realcleardefense.com/2017/09/03/germany_evacuates_60000_to_defuse_wwii_bomb_29...
22. Kilroy Was Here  Washington, D.C. - Atlas Obscura http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/kilroy-was-here
23. Marines That Beat Hitler & Jim Crow Get Their Due | RealClearDefense https://www.realcleardefense.com/2017/09/03/marines_that_beat_hitler_amp_jim_crow_get_thei...
24. Meet the Man Who Live-Tweets World War II - The Atlantic https://www.theatlantic.com/technology/archive/2017/09/world-war-twitter-tweeting/541134/?...
25. Notable Problems in Determining World War II Era German Divisional Strength Returns | The Globe at War http://globeatwar.com/blog-entry/notable-problems-determining-world-war-ii-era-german-divi...
26. Private John Steele Monument  Sainte-Mre-glise, France - Atlas Obscura http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/private-john-steele-monument
27. Site of a Japanese Balloon Bomb Explosion  Omaha, Nebraska - Atlas Obscura http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/site-of-a-japanese-balloon-bomb-explosion
28. The Lessons of the 1942 Makin Island Raid | War Is Boring https://warisboring.com/the-lessons-of-the-1942-makin-island-raid/

Cold War:
29. Douglas MacArthur: Atomic Bombs Will Win The Korean War? http://warfarehistorynetwork.com/daily/military-history/douglas-macarthur-atomic-bombs-wil...
30. Facts About the Vietnam War, Part I: They Didnt Fight with One Hand Tied Behind Their Backs - War on the Rocks https://warontherocks.com/2017/09/facts-about-the-vietnam-war-part-i-they-didnt-fight-with...
31. Facts About the Vietnam War, Part IV: U.S. Journalists Didnt Lose the War, Celebrate the Enemy, or Vilify American Soldiers https://warontherocks.com/2017/09/facts-about-the-vietnam-war-part-iv-u-s-journalists-didn...
32. Facts About the Vietnam War, Part V: Bad Strategy, Bad Leadership Doomed South Vietnam as Much as the Curtailing of U.S. Aid https://warontherocks.com/2017/09/facts-about-the-vietnam-war-part-v-bad-strategy-bad-lead...
33. Hilltop Doc  Memories of a Korean War Combat Corpsman  MilitaryHistoryNow.com http://militaryhistorynow.com/2017/10/01/hilltop-doc-memories-of-a-korean-war-combat-corps...
34. Man Who Saved the World From Nuclear Armageddon in 1983 Dies at 77 https://paleofuture.gizmodo.com/man-who-saved-the-world-from-nuclear-armageddon-in-1983-18...
35. Soviet Embassy's 'Summer Camp' House  Bluemont, Virginia - Atlas Obscura http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/soviet-embassys-summer-camp-house
36. Studying the Vietnam War | Humanities https://www.neh.gov/humanities/2017/summer/feature/studying-the-vietnam-war
37. The Day After traumatized a generation with the horrors of nuclear war http://www.avclub.com/the-day-after-traumatized-a-generation-with-the-horrors-1798447330
38. The Documentary The Vietnam War: Artistic License as History | Small Wars Journal http://smallwarsjournal.com/blog/the-documentary-%E2%80%9Cthe-vietnam-war%E2%80%9D-artisti...
39. Woomera Range Complex  Woomera, Australia - Atlas Obscura http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/woomera-range-complex

Post Cold War:
40. In 2007, Israel Quietly Eliminated Syrias Nuclear Program | War Is Boring http://warisboring.com/in-2007-israel-quietly-eliminated-syrias-nuclear-program/
41. We Shouldnt Forget the Lessons of Black Hawk Down: Part I | Just Security https://www.justsecurity.org/44493/forget-lessons-black-hawk-down-part/

Naval:
42. British Naval History Tribal Class Destroyers Part 4; HMS Tartar, the Survivor - British Naval History http://www.britishnavalhistory.com/tribal-class-destroyers-4-hms-tartar-the-survivor/
43. Conference Report: McMullen Naval History Symposium 2017  Defence-In-Depth https://defenceindepth.co/2017/09/22/conference-report-mcmullen-naval-history-symposium-2017/

Thematic/Misc:
44. British Naval History BOOK CHAT: J. R. McNeill, Mosquito Empires: Ecology and War in the Greater Caribbean, 1620-1914. (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2010.) - British Naval History http://www.britishnavalhistory.com/book-chat-j-r-mcneill-mosquito-empires-ecology-war-grea...
45. Gun Barrel Fence  Washington, D.C. - Atlas Obscura http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/gun-barrel-fence
46. Held Hostage By A Cargo Of Bombs  gCaptain http://gcaptain.com/held-hostage-cargo-bombs/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_ca...
47. How A Small-Time Training Group And An Army Program Changed American Distance Running http://deadspin.com/how-a-small-time-training-group-and-an-army-program-cha-1797614412?utm...
48. Mexican Cartel Tactical Note #34: Recent .50 Cal Sniper Rifle Seizures | Small Wars Journal http://smallwarsjournal.com/jrnl/art/mexican-cartel-tactical-note-34-recent-50-cal-sniper-...
49. Navy Medicine in Araby (Episode 5) | Of Ships & Surgeons https://ofshipssurgeons.wordpress.com/2017/09/05/navy-medicine-in-araby-episode-5/
50. Rethinking War Monuments, Ancient and Modern http://www.scottmanning.com/content/rethinking-monuments-ancient-modern/
52. The ultimate guide to searching CIA's declassified archives https://www.muckrock.com/news/archives/2017/sep/22/crest-search-guide/
53. Transforming White Supremacist Memorials, Part 2: Recent Acts of Creative Protest | HISTORISTA http://www.megankatenelson.com/transforming-white-supremacist-memorials-part-2-recent-acts...
54. World's Largest Deadweight Machine  Gaithersburg, Maryland - Atlas Obscura http://www.atlasobscura.com/places/worlds-largest-deadweight-machine

Keywords: 303