Is There Linguistic Bias in Academic Publication?

Avi Staiman's picture

The language you use to express yourself, your form and style of communication, and even the examples you use have a direct impact on how your research is perceived in your field and adopted among your peers.

But what if breakthrough and innovative research is being rejected by reviewers simply because it isn't written in 'standard English?'

We are delighted to welcome Professor Marnie Jo Petray, of Slippery Rock University in Pennsylvania and Professor Gaillynn Clements, of Duke University, co-editors of the new book: Linguistic Discrimination in US Higher Education, to explore the question of language bias in academia.

December 16 at 8:30 PM Israel time/ 6:30 PM UK/ 1:30 PM EST on Zoom

Register today for the event for free!