UCLA-USHMM Workshop: The Holocaust at the Crossroads of Empire: West and Sub-Saharan African Approaches to African, Holocaust, and Jewish Studies, March 4, 2021

Krista Hegburg's picture

The Holocaust at the Crossroads of Empire: West and Sub-Saharan African Approaches to African, Holocaust, and Jewish Studies Workshop

Please join the US Holocaust Memorial Museum and the UCLA Alan D. Leve Center for Jewish Studies for a discussion with scholars from Ghana, Israel, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, and the United States as they take stock of the state of African research and archival collections on the complex cultural, spiritual, and social history of West African Jews and the importance of African perspectives to the history of the Holocaust.

This half-day workshop explores the history of the Jews of West and Sub-Saharan Africa and highlights the emerging interest among African scholars in the imperial reach of Nazi and Vichy race laws, forced labor, and internment in the region, as well as the arena of Holocaust studies more generally.

Thursday, March 4, 2021
9am PST | 12pm EST | 18h CET

This program will be held via Zoom and is free and open to the public.

For more information and to register, please visit www.ushmm.org/west-africa.

Categories: Workshop