ANN: Virtual panel discussion-- Black Lives Matter: A Transatlantic Discussion About the Movement in the German Context, this Thursday, July 16 at 11am EDT

Tiffany N.  Florvil's picture

 

 

Virtual panel discussion-- Black Lives Matter: A Transatlantic Discussion About the Movement in the German Context

Cross-post from H-TGS

Recent protests, which began in Minneapolis, Minnesota, have spread across the globe, even to cities in Germany, where many are rallying behind the "Black Lives Matter" movement to call for a deeper examination of systemic racial injustice in their own society.

The Transatlantic Outreach Program (TOP) and the Goethe-Institut Visitors Programme invite you to a panel discussion with representatives from the United States and Germany to discuss such questions as:

  • What are the historical backgrounds of Black people in Germany?
  • In what ways have they been accepted or not into German society?
  • What are the historical backgrounds of racism in Germany and of racism towards Black people in particular?
  • What efforts have been made in Germany, both from the side of the government and society at large, to discuss the issues of racism, discrimination, and decolonization?
  • What are the similarities and differences between anti-racism movements in Germany and those in the U.S.?
  • What does the future of the "Black Lives Matter" movement look like in Germany?

Date: Thursday, July 16, 2020
Start Time: 11:00 AM EDT / 17:00 CET
End Time: 12:30 PM EDT / 18:30 CET

For additional information: https://www.goethe.de/ins/us/en/m/spr/eng/top/tte/vtours/21915931.html?fbclid=IwAR3-MD7SRBCsbYXOLGJbCXRWpi7RV2WupFlLMpawNVPeStXYR64E5zL0H2o