Call for Submissions: ASPHS A.H. de Oliveira Marques Prize

Sandie Holguin's picture

The Association for Spanish and Portuguese Historical Studies solicits submissions for the annual A. H. de Oliveira Marques Prize. The A. H. de Oliveira Marques Prize was created by means of a generous endowment from Dr. Harold B. Johnson, of the University of Virginia, in memory of the distinguished Portuguese historian, A. H. de Oliveira Marques (1933-2007). The prize, which carries an honorarium of $250, will be awarded each year for the best peer-reviewed article or book chapter on Portuguese history published during the previous year. Submitted articles or book chapters may be written in Portuguese, English, Castilian, Catalan, or French, but only articles on Portuguese history published within the 2017 calendar year will be considered. Authors must be active members of the ASPHS to be eligible. The prize winner will be announced at the annual conference of the ASPHS in Portland, Oregon (April 5-7, 2018).

Authors must submit (1) one electronic copy (via email) of the article or chapter, (2) a short (2-page) CV, including current address, and (3) a document confirming that the article or chapter has been peer-reviewed. These materials must be sent to each of the three members of the prize committee below. Submissions must be received by all members of the committee by January 10, 2018 .

Mark Molesky [chair] (Seton Hall University),, Bernardo de Sá-Nogueira (Faculdade de Letras da Universidade de Lisboa), Ana T. Valdez (University of Évora/University of Lisbon)

For more information about membership in the Association for Spanish and Portuguese Historical Studies, please visit: