Welcome to H-SHGAPE, the online forum of the Society for Historians of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era and one of the founding networks on H-NET. H-SHGAPE seeks to encourage the study of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era through its network and online resources.

H-SHGAPE was originally developed and maintained by Dr. Patrick Reagan, who deserves credit for assembling its wealth of information. Thanks are also due to the numerous GAPE scholars whose contributions in the form of syllabi, bibliographies, essays, and reviews make H-SHGAPE an invaluable resource for students and teachers. Scholars interested in contributing to updating these resources are encouraged to contact the web editor Christopher McKnight Nichols.


Recent Content

Book Announcement We Are What We Drink

Dear colleagues,

This book contains a chapter on the linkages between Progressivism and temperance reform and might hence be of interest to you or your library.


Sabine Meyer

Meyer, Sabine N. We Are What We Drink: The Temperance Battle in Minnesota. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2015. ISBN 978-0-252-03935-5

A powerful study of identity formation and the power of place in the shaping of history

H-Net Job Guide Weekly Report For H-SHGAPE: 21 September - 28 September

The following jobs were posted to the H-Net Job Guide from
21 September 2015 to 28 September 2015.  These job postings are included here based on the categories selected by the list editors for H-SHGAPE.  See the H-Net Job Guide website at
http://www.h-net.org/jobs/ for more information.



Brown University - Assistant Professor, History and Environment and

Fishel-Calhoun Best Article Prize Call for Submissions

2016 Fishel-Calhoun Prize: Call for Submissions

Society for Historians of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era


The Society for Historians of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era (SHGAPE) is accepting submissions for its biennial competition for the Fishel-Calhoun Prize for the best article dealing with any aspect of United States history between 1865 and 1917. The prize is open to new scholars, defined as graduate students or new PhDs (within 6 years of receipt of the PhD) who have not yet published a book.