Welcome to H-Kentucky

The goal of H-Kentucky is to create an online collaborative environment to facilitate communication and the exchange or scholarly and pedagogical ideas among teachers, researchers, scholars, advanced students, and related professionals (e.g. local historians, librarians, archivists, genealogists), all in an open, democratic, respectful and non-partisan manner. H-Kentucky especially welcomes those who are interested in Kentucky, as well as those in any history/humanities field who live and/or work in Kentucky. 

Recent Content

The Filson Welcomes Scholar in Residence

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                 
Contact:  Jamie Evans
Ph: (502) 635-5083                                             
1310 S. 3rd St.                                      
Louisville, KY  40208                                              

Mason County Woman Suffrage League is formed

Sometime in the month of August in 1913, the Mason County Woman Suffrage League was formed and took on as its first task to host a tent at the Germantown Fair August 27-30th. Former KERA president Laura Clay spoke on the first day of the fair, and the Hon. A.D. Cole of Maysville spoke on the second day. In October, Ida Withers Harrison of Lexington spoke at five different sites in the northern part of the county and by November, the League could report to KERA that they had 241 members enrolled: "92 men...

Anderson County Woman's Suffrage League is formed

Madeline McDowell Breckinridge, president of the Kentucky Equal Rights Association, gave a speech at the Anderson County Teacher's Institute on July 17, 1913, and there she handed out women's suffrage pledge cards. Thirty cards were signed and turned in, and Mrs. Breckinridge appointed a county chairman to call a meeting and create a suffrage association. The next day, the Anderson County Woman's Suffrage League was organized with six officers; Mrs.