H-HistBibl is an international network of librarians, archivists, curators, and scholars interested in the practice and study of bibliographic and library services to support the study and teaching of history.

Recent Content

Backpack-Sized Archiving Kit Empowers Community Historians to Record Local Narratives

A new project at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s Southern Historical Collection (SHC) is making archive creation more accessible by offering resources that can easily launch community partners on memory projects. Called Archivist in a Backpack, it supplies compact kits with basic tools for oral history and material archives.

workshop - Tools for Locating Primary Sources in Archives and Online

Sharing an event hosted by ALA Rusa History Section:

Tools for Locating Primary Sources in Archives and Online

Thursday, 9/6/2018

  • 1:00 PM (Eastern)
  • 12:00 PM (Central)
  • 11:00 AM (Mountain)
  • 10:00 AM (Pacific)

This course is intended for librarians who are new to working with patrons who need to find primary sources. It will cover using four important electronic databases, and several prominent printed resources, to locate primary sources in archives and in online databases.

Rare Book School Fall and Winter Courses

Rare Book School is Now Accepting Applications for Fall 2018 & Winter 2019 Courses.

Applications are now being accepted for six Rare Book School courses offered this fall and winter at the Morgan Library & Museum, the Library of Congress, and the University of Virginia. Visit https://rarebookschool.org/news/fall-winter-2018/ for more details.

In New York City (28 October–2 November):

 - The Book of Hours, 1250–1550; taught by Roger S. Wieck.

In Washington, DC (2–7 December):

New Archive of Middle Eastern Photography Features 9,000 Digitized Images

"From Shamoon Zamir, a literature professor at NYU Abu Dhabi, comes a "research archive of historical and contemporary photography from the Middle East and Northern Africa (MENA)," designed to be  fully accessible to the public."

The collection is here: http://akkasah.org/page/frontpage/collections

Pages