H-FedHist promotes the study and broad understanding of the history of the United States Federal Government and to serve as the voice of the federal historical community.

Recent Content

NASA Interview

Our interview with Robert S. Arrighi, archivist/historian, at NASA’s Glenn Research Center in Cleveland, Ohio (in The Federalist, Summer 2013).

Roger R. Trask Award

The 2017 recipient of the Roger R. Trask Award is Dr. J. Samuel Walker.  A former historian of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission and the author of Prompt and Utter Destruction: Truman and the Use of Atomic Bombs against Japan, Dr. Walker is the author of five books on the history of regulating nuclear power, including Three Mile Island: A Nuclear Crisis in Historical Perspective and The Road to Yucca Mountain: The Development of Radioactive Waste Policy in the United States.

SHFG's Annual Prize Winners

The Society for History in the Federal Government (SHFG) is pleased to announce the winners of its annual prize competition.  The Society’s prestigious awards recognize exemplary works of history presented in diverse formats for a variety of audiences, all of which further understanding of the history of the federal government.  The awards will be presented at the Society’s annual meeting on April 13 at the National Archives Building in Washington, DC.  Congratulations to all of our 2016/2017 winners.