H-Slavery Reviews and Reviewers

Dear colleagues,

This month, H-Slavery begins to publish reviews in our field of interest. Today, I post Philippe Girard’s critique of a new primary source reader on the Haitian Revolution, compiled and edited by David Geggus.

Please feel free to get in touch if you would like to be added to our pool of reviewers or to suggest publications for review.

Best regards,

Claus K. Meyer, H-Slavery Review Editor

ANN: H-Net reviews posted to the web 25 May - 01 Jun 2015

The following reviews were posted to the H-Net web site between 25 May 2015 and 01 Jun 2015 and may be of interest to H-USA

 

Reviewed for H-SHGAPE by Abigail Markwyn

    McPherson, Alan L..  _Invaded: How Latin Americans and their

    Allies Fought and Ended U.S. Occupations, The_.  New York: Oxford

    Univeristy Press, 2013.  416 pp.  $45.00, ISBN 978-0-19-534303-8.

http://www.h-net.msu.edu/reviews/showrev.php?id=41783

 

Review: Parr on Kelman and Fetter-Vorm, 'Battle Lines: A Graphic History of the Civil War' (x-h-war)

H-Civwar's partners at H-War just published this review that seems pertinent to this network as well.  It's the first professional scholar's graphic novel about the war that I've heard of.  Are there others?  The reviewer doesn't discuss the book's sources or sourcing (or lack thereof -- should graphic novels deign to notice existing scholarship?).

Peter

H-Net reviews posted to the web 25 May 2015 - 01 Jun 2015

From: H-Net Reviews <hbooks@mail.h-net.msu.edu>
Date: Mon, 01 Jun 2015 07:00:01 -0400
Subject: H-Net reviews posted to the web 25 May 2015 - 01 Jun 2015

The following reviews were posted to the H-Net web site between
25 May 2015 and 01 Jun 2015.

Reviewed for H-SHGAPE by Abigail Markwyn
    McPherson, Alan L..  _Invaded: How Latin Americans and their
    Allies Fought and Ended U.S. Occupations, The_.  New York: Oxford

Re: Crozier on Bauer, 'Queer BDSM Intimacies: Critical Consent and Pushing Boundaries' (Author's Reply)

First of all thanks to Ivan Crozier for the appreciation of my work and for contextualizing it within various broader debates. I am happy to find that a historian is interested in my study and that we can discuss my work across disciplinary boundaries! Reading your review, the following commentaries come to my mind:

Reviews: announcement

Dear all,

The H-histsex book review editor team is pleased to announce that we have are going to start inviting authors of the books reviewed to respond to the reviewers’ comments.

We will start this with Robin Bauer, Queer BDSM Intimacies: Critical Consent and Pushing Boundaries (2014); Ivan Crozier’s review of this will be published very soon.

H-Net reviews posted to the web 11 May 2015 - 18 May 2015

From: H-Net Reviews <hbooks@mail.h-net.msu.edu>
Date: Mon, 18 May 2015 07:00:03 -0400
Subject: H-Net reviews posted to the web 11 May 2015 - 18 May 2015

The following reviews were posted to the H-Net web site between
11 May 2015 and 18 May 2015.

Reviewed for H-Asia by Sukhee Lee
    Ebrey, Patricia Buckley.  _Emperor Huizong_.  Cambridge: Harvard
    University Press, 2013.  696 pp.  $45.00, ISBN 978-0-674-72525-6.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Reviews